Farash Prize for Social Entrepreneurship

First awarded in 2012, the Farash Prize honors the legacy of Max Farash—a business entrepreneur of the highest order who, along with his wife, Marian, recognized the importance of supporting social causes in their community.

Grassroots social entrepreneurs too often go unrecognized by their own communities. The goal of the Farash Prize is, first, to honor what has been accomplished. Second, by giving visibility and credibility to individual entrepreneurs and their organizations, the Prize encourages the creation of innovative approaches to not only meet, but reduce, community needs. The winner’s affiliated organization receives $100,000.

2016 Winner
Phyllis Korn
Past Executive Director,
Alternatives for Battered Women and Founder of ABW’s first shelter
News release

2016 Finalists Video

2014 Winner
Sr. Christine Wagner , SSJ
Co-founder and Executive Director,
St. Joseph's Neighborhood Center
News release

2014 Finalists Video

2012 Winner
Thomas C. Ferraro

News release

2012 Finalists Video


Videos by DeBergerac Productions, Inc.

The next Farash Prize will be awarded in 2018. Further information will be posted here approximately one year in advance.