2017 Possibility Grants

Many 501(c)(3) organizations with social entrepreneurship projects have limited funding opportunities. Possibility Grants were created to address this need and continue to make social entrepreneurship in our community possible.

Entrepreneurship Ecosystem Fund

A successful economic ecosystem arises when a community’s organizations work closely and productively to drive business growth and to create wealth and sustainable employment, leading to additional outside investment in the local market.

With the establishment of the Entrepreneurship Ecosystem Fund, the Foundation has forged a collaborative alliance with entities in Monroe and Ontario Counties that play key roles in the regional entrepreneurial and innovation ecosystem. The intended result is better collaboration, a stronger regional image for entrepreneurial activity and innovation, and the attraction of significant new venture capital from outside the area. 

Foundation support has been directed through the Greater Rochester Enterprise Foundation.

Farash Prize for Social Entrepreneurship

The Farash Prize was established in 2011 to encourage and reward the creation of innovative approaches that not only meet, but reduce, social community needs. It honors the legacy of Max Farash—a business entrepreneur of the highest order who, along with his wife, Marian, recognized the importance of supporting social causes in their community. In recognition of the winner’s accomplishments, the recipient’s affiliated organization receives $100,000.

The first Prize was awarded in 2012 to Thomas C. Ferraro, founder and executive director of Foodlink, Inc., a Rochester-based organization delivering millions of million pounds of food annually to area soup kitchens, food pantries, shelters, group homes, senior centers, and other nonprofit organizations in a 10-county area.  In 2014, the Prize was awarded to Sister Christine Wagner, co-founder and executive director of St. Joseph’s Neighborhood Center, which provides health care, counseling, adult education, and social service advocacy to the uninsured in Monroe County. The 2016 Prize went to Phyllis Korn, past executive director of Alternatives for Battered Women and the founder of ABW's first shelter.

The next Farash Prize will be awarded in the fall of 2018.

See more information about the prize here.